Vegan Blackberry Pancake

Image

This Christmas, I finally have a chance to spend some time to study the recipe book from Candle 79, a New York’s renowned vegan restaurant. We had the pleasure of  having brunch at Candle 79 earlier this year, and we just marvelled at how incredibly delicious the dishes are! Right after we came back from NY Richard went to Amazon and bought the Candle 79 Cookbook for me to experiment with. It’s been sitting on my shelf for over 5 months and this holiday I decide it’s time to try out the new recipes. First item I tried – Vegan Blueberry Pancake. Except that the blueberries are crazy expensive right now in this season so I switched it to Blackberries. Turns out to be pretty awesome.

Started with mixing the batter – All purpose flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, soy milk, vanilla beans, earth balance buttery spread,  egg replacer, water, and some crushed blackberries.

Image

Pour the batter into the frying pan and cook until the surface of the pancake has some bubbles and a few have burst.

Image

Flip over, and brown the other side as well. This will take about 1-2 minutes.

Image

Serve them with blackberry butter and maple syrup. Delicious! I was in heaven! This recipe makes fluffy pancakes and it’s just divine with the buttery spread and maple syrup. I can’t get enough of it!

Image

And there it is, our savory Christmas Breakfast! Enjoy!