Butternut Squash-Chestnut Soup with Caramelized Pears

Butternut Squash Soup

After having a big success with the Blackberry Pancake for breakfast. I decided to try Butternut Squash-Chestnut Soup with Caramelized Pears for lunch. I made butternut squash soup before, but it always tastes bland and lacking flavour. I can’t wait to try this recipe from Candle 79’s cookbook since it does incorporate a lot of interesting ingredients and spices that I am not familiar with.

This recipe is available on the website, see here.

First preparing the soup base with my Le Creuset Round Dutch Oven.

Butternut Squash Soup Base

Butternut Squash Soup Base

While the soup base is simmering away, I moved on to prepare the Balsamic-Caramelized Pears. We bought this amazing “Maletti” Aceto Balsamico di Modena from Cresendo in distillery a while ago, and I know it’s going to be excellent for this recipe. It’s got this velvety smooth texture and delicious sweetness.

And the final touch – award winning maple syrup from Ninutik. I purchased from LPK Culinary Grove. The sweets store use Ninutik maple sugar in a lot of their desserts. In my opinion, it’s the key to their savoury deliciousness. However, it was really sad to say goodbye to LPK as it closed down at the end of December 2012. I miss their high quality sweet vegan desserts😦

This is what the pears look like when I started with them.

Pears

And this is how it turned out! Beautiful caramelized color and it tastes divine!

Caramelized Pears
Purée the butternut squash soup base and garnish it with the Balsamic-Caramelized Pears. This soup is amazing. It’s hearty and flavourful, and I have to say the caramelized pears are definitely the highlight of the soup. I am definitely making more of those for my dessert recipe.

Butternut Squash Soup